Why I Pursue

Hey y’all!  I’ve been gone for a while… about 6 months-ish.  I’ve done a lot in these past 6 months; I finished school, I had an amazing summer, and I began high school :/.  About the third day of school, we got an English assignment requiring us to write a paper about what we are passionate about.  My passion?  Passionately Pursuing Christ.  We then had to re-write our paper in a certain style mimicking an author.  So here it is, my English paper on my passion written in the style of Terry Tempest Williams’ Why I Write.

           Everybody has something they are passionate about.  My passion is not a thing; it is not of this world.  My passion is pursuing Christ. 

            I pursue to live.  I pursue to love.  I pursue to find something good in the world.  I pursue like a young child chasing their mother through the parking lot calling to her desperately trying not to get lost.  I pursue to hope.  I pursue to be found.  I pursue to know.  I pursue to understand.  I pursue to connect.  I pursue to worship.  I pursue to tolerate.  I pursue to succeed.  I pursue to belong.  I pursue as though I am the single star shining through the cloak of night.  I pursue to express.  I pursue to reflect.  I pursue to devote.

            I pursue for faith.  I pursue for trust.  I pursue for knowledge.  I pursue for satisfaction.  I pursue for relationships.  I pursue for forgiveness.  I pursue for life.  I pursue for change.  I pursue for me.  I pursue for you.  I pursue for joy.  I pursue for acceptance.  I pursue for peace.  I pursue for worth.  I pursue for assurance. 

            I pursue through trials.  I pursue through pain.  I pursue through flaws.  I pursue through blemishes.  I pursue through imperfections.  I pursue through failures.  I pursue like an athlete perseveres to win.  I pursue through lies.  I pursue through brokenness.  I pursue through hurt.  I pursue through deceitfulness. 

            I pursue and it’s as though all the weight of my pain and suffering is picked up from the ground and transformed into life, like a puzzle is transformed into a picture.  I pursue and then I know, I love, I belong.  I pursue and I am known, I am loved, I am accepted.  I pursue and I find joy, I find peace, I find life.  I pursue and I change; I am kind, I am compassionate, I am patient, I am joyous, I am peaceful.  

            I pursue because I am needy.  I pursue because I am lonely.  I pursue because I am desperate.  I pursue because I am different.  I pursue because I am broken.  I pursue because I have failed.  I pursue because I am imperfect.  I pursue because I am set free.  I pursue because I am helpless.  I pursue because of His sacrifice.  I pursue because I yearn for more.  I pursue because I know there is more.  I pursue because of forever.  I pursue because I can.  I pursue because it’s not over yet.  I pursue because I can’t live without.  I pursue because it is well with my soul.  I pursue because how great thou art.   

            My passion is not like other passions.  My passion is indescribable, incomparable, and perfect.  My passion, never disappoints.  The second definition of passion is, the suffering and death of Jesus.  My passion is not only Christ, but Christ is passion.

            I pursue as though I am next to Christ himself.

I hope you have enjoyed my paper!  Prayers to all throughout the week!

-Claire 😀

Leave a comment